CPC, SEO, ROI? OMG! WTF?

Our super useful, and mostly unbiased guide, to business terms and jargon!

CPC and CPM

Cost Per Click is an advertising term that is used to describe how much it costs you when someone clicks on your digital advert. You might have also heard of CPM, this term is used to describe the cost of showing the advert to a thousand people regardless of how many clicks or actions are taken.

SEO

Search Engine Optimisation is the process of improving your digital content so that it is more easily found by search engines. This will lead to your content being ranked higher and your stuff being more easily found by the people that are looking for it.

In other words… making your website easier to find

IPO and IP

The Intellectual Property Office is the official UK government body responsible for Intellectual Property rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright. Intellectual Property is property that has been created with the mind such as works of art, designs, music, symbols, stories etc

ROI

Return on Investment is a way to measure how good an investment was. You can calculate ROI by dividing the amount of profit you made, by the amount you spent. For example, if I spent £100 on shares in a company, and then sold the shares for £120. You would divide the profit (£20) by the original investment (£100) which is 0.2. Multiply the answer by 100 to get a percentage which would be 20% in this case. So your ROI would be 20%.

Or… how much did my money grow by.

YTD

Year To Date means the period of time since the start of your year until now. It could be since the start of the financial year, the actual year, or your accounting year depending on the context it is used in.

ROAS

Return On Advertising Spend is similar to ROI but it describes the return on your advertising spend. So if you run an advert and it costs you £10 to sell £50 worth of stuff then you divide the return (£50) with the spend (£10) to get 5. Your ROAS is 5 because for every £1 spent you get £5 back.

In other words… how good are your ads

P&L

Profit and Loss is a way to summarise and report how much income and expenditure your business has over a specific period. This is useful as it shows how much profit or loss you are making at a given time.

B2B and B2C

Business to Business means that a business mostly trades with other businesses. This is similar B2C which means that a business mostly trades directly with consumers.

ICO

The Information Commissioners Office is a public body that monitors and regulates the use of data within companies in the interest of the public.

In other words… they make businesses keep your data safe.

U/EX or CX

User Experience or Customer Experience describes the a customer has when they buy from you. It lists all the steps they must go through and how they feel about their experience. It is useful for highlighting user frustration and possible causes of lost sales.

Or… does your sales process annoy your customers

CTA

Call To Actions are the instructions you give to your customers when you would like them to take a specific action. For example “Call Now” on a flyer, “Read More” on a preview of a blog or article, or “Buy Now” on a Facebook Advert.

SMART

Smart is an acronym that is often used when setting personal or business goals. It stands for: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time and helps you create appropriate goals

SWOT

SWOT stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats. A swot analysis will identify the strength of your businesses market position, and is often done as a part of a business plan.

C-Suite

C-Suite is a term used to describe the top executives within a business or organisation. It will typically include the chief executive officer (CEO), chief financial officer (CFO), chief operating officer (COO), and chief information officer (CIO).

In other words… All the big C’s!

HTML and CSS

Hyper Text Markup Language is the computer language that most websites are written in and is used to make functional websites and pages. Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) is a language that tells the HMTL how to look.

Simply… its the techy bit that makes websites work and look pretty!

USP

Your Unique Selling Point is the benefit you offer with your product or service that you believe makes your offering different from anything your competitors might offer.

SLA

Service Level Agreement refers to the level of service that is expected, usually between two businesses. It will include how the service will be measured and any penalties that might be incurred if targets are missed.

In fact… a SLA is in place every time you post a letter and they promise to deliver it on a particular date.

SERP

The Search Engine Results Page is the page where the results are listed when you do a keyword search.

In other words… what you see when you Google stuff!

VA

Virtual Assistants are freelance office assistants. They typically offer a variety of administrative services such as scheduling clients, answering your phone and chasing invoices, from their own office, and will work for more than one client at a time. Some specialise in additional services such as social media management, blog writing, copywriting etc etc.

GDPR

The General Data Protection Regulation is a set of rules that govern how data is processed. If you are collecting personal data for any reason you will need to comply with GDPR to keep your customers safe. This is the rule that tells you if you can store data.

PECR

The Privacy and Electronic Communications Regulations relate to the types of marketing you can do. Basically, they are the rules that cover electronic marketing such as through emails, phone, websites, text etc. They are often confused with GDPR, but GDPR covers the storage and use of personal data. This rules tells you how you can use it.

CMS

A Content Management System allows you to build a website without knowing how to write code. It is the system that most of us use to build our websites as it is pretty user friendly.

In fact… WordPress is a CMS, and so is Joomla and Shopify

CRM

Customer Relationship Management is a system that businesses can use to collect and analyse customer information. For example, it could be used by call centres to access customer data, make changes to the data and record conversations, or any business storing details of customer orders and relevant personal data. HubSpot provides a free service which is very popular amongst small businesses.

Think of it like an techy version of a filling cabinet!

Which ones have we missed? Let us know in the comments and we’ll update the list!


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